Back Home

DWI EDUCATION FINAL EXAM

DWI 12 HR. EDUCATION FINAL EXAM
1. Drunk driving actually began long before automobiles were invented.
2. As an alternative to water, alcohol could be stored longer and was usually safer.
3. Attila the Hun died around the year 445 on his wedding night from an alcohol overdose and a nosebleed.
4. Moderation had always been tolerated to a degree because alcohol had been literally more important to life than water.
5. The first actual drunk driving arrest happened in 1897 in London when George Smith crashed his cab into a building.
6 In 1920, the Eighteenth amendment to the U.S. Constitution became law. The amendment was called the Volstead act. The nation went dry ... sorta.
7. Alaska had already enacted its territorial "Bone Dry" law in 1918, two years before the Volstead Act.
8. In 1939, Indiana became the first state to enact a BAC law.
9. The intoxication BAC level FOR TEXAS is .08.
10. First Texas DWI Offense: Texas Criminal Status: Class B Misdemeanor.
11. Texas DWI School: First time offenders must complete a 12 hour DWI Education Program within 180 days of when probation was granted or risk having their license revoked.
12. Severe problems is typical of an initial societal response to a health PROBLEM (ALCOHOL AND/OR DRUGS).
13. Texas Criminal Status: Class A Misdemeanor. A 3rd DUI is a 3rd degree felony.
14. When someone has a drinking problem, there are two types of mental health diagnoses that the person can receive: alcohol abuse and alcohol dependence.
15. DWI and Driving with Minor: It is a felony to drive while intoxicated with a minor younger than 15 years of age in the vehicle.
16. The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fourth Edition recognizes 2 classifications for alcohol use disorders.
17. Alcohol dependence is characterized by multiple symptoms.
18. Most drinking problems are of mild to moderate severity.
19. CHEMICALLY DEPENDENT PEOPLE HAVE AN URGE TO indulge in the pleasure of self OF their CHOICE.
20. The stresses and strains of daily life--- family problems, job hassles, and many more---are more evidence that we are powerless.
21. A STANDARD DRINK IS 1 CAN OF BEER, ONE GLASS OF WINE, OR ONE MIXED DRINK.
22. A WOMAN SHOULD NOT HAVE MORE THAN 3 DRINKS AT ONE TIME OR A TOTAL OF 7 DRINKS IN ONE WEEK.
23. A man who has more than 4 drinks at one time or more than 14 drinks a week IS AT RISK FOR A DRINKING PROBLEM.
24. Beer, wine, and hard liquor (distilled spirits) all contain alcohol.
25. One 12 fl oz (355 mL) bottle of beer or wine cooler IS CONSIDERED A STANDARD DRINK.
26. Alcoholism is not only an addiction, but it can also become a form of self-abuse when a person can no longer control their addiction.
27. There are many signs of alcohol abuse, but immediate signs will be apparent in facial features.
28. A functioning alcoholic is typically not someone who is physically dependent,
29. While these people might not be quite ready to admit that a problem exists, there are physical symptoms that will become evident with alcohol abuse.
30. Physical Signs and Symptoms: A PERSON COMPLAINS ABOUT NUMBNESS IN the hands or FEET, OR HAVE NUMEROUS OCCASIONS WHEN THEY HAVE A STOMACH ACHE OR AND UPSET STOMACH.
31. In 2012, 32.3 percent of all fatalities in motor vehicle crashes in Texas involved a driver under the influence of alcohol.
32. In Texas, drivers are legally intoxicated and can be arrested and charged with a DWI with a .08 blood alcohol concentration; however, driving ability can be impaired below the legal alcohol limit.
33. A person’s ability to safely operate a motor vehicle also is compromised by illegal drugs, prescription drugs and even over-the-counter medications.
34. It's families losing the most as Texas leads nation in DWI deaths.
35. The Bexar County district attorney's office initiated a no-refusal policy in October 2011 that requires anyone arrested on suspicion of DWI to provide a breath or blood draw.
36. Although Houston's Harris County had more than double the number of fatalities that Bexar County had in 2011, it also had more than double the population.
37. Anyone who spends enough time in Bexar County will certainly become aware of the roadside memorials along country roads, busy highways and suburban drives.
38. The “foundation” of the IPDE method of driving “IDENTIFY,” is reliant upon a driver’s implementation of scanning techniques that serve to discriminate between information that is useful to driving and “non-driving" visual information.
39. The second step in the IPDE method is to PREDICT what might happen should you encounter a real or potential hazard.
40. The third step in the IPDE method is to DECIDE what driver action you will implement (accelerate, steer, decelerate, or any combination of these vehicle control maneuvers) to avoid a crash with a real (or potential) hazard.
41. To EXECUTE is to carry out your decided-upon action.
42. DRIVING EFFECTS AND BAC: .AT 02 BAC YOUR DIVIDED ATTENTION TO DRIVING TASK IS EFFECTED.
43. AT BAC .06, YOUR DRIVING INFORMATION IS EFFECTED.
44. AT A BAC .08, YOU ARE LACKING PERCEPTION.
45 . Reaction distance + Braking distance = Stopping distance: AT BAC ,05, YOUR STOPPING DISTANCE IS +32%.
46. BAC IS LOWERED .015% PER HOUR.
47. IF YOU START DRINKING AT 9:00 PM AND STOP DRINKING AT 1:30 AM, YOU WILL BE LEGALLY INTOXICATED (.08) AT 7:30 AM THE NEXT DAY.
48. Alcohol destroys your liver. It becomes swollen and STOPS WORKING RIGHT.
49. Drinking alcohol causes the air tubes in our lungs to become narrower, making it difficult to breathe.
50. Alcohol affects your memory and your ability to think.
51. YOUR BRAIN IS NOT COMPLETELY DEVELOPED UNTIL AGE 25, SO IF YOU DRINK UNDER 25 YEARS OF AGE THERE IS A GREATER CHANCE FOR DAMAGE TO THE FRONTAL CORTEX.
YOUR FULL NAME:
CAUSE NO.
DATE OF BIRTH
CELL PHONE NO.
CURRENT E-MAIL ADDRESS:
CURRENT MAILING ADDRESS. INCLUDE CITY AND STATE AND ZIP CODE.
AN ALTERNATE PHONE NUMBER AT WHICH WE CAN LEAVE A MESSAGE.
YOUR PROBATION OFFICER'S FULL NAME.
YOUR PROBATION OFFICER'S E-MAIL ADDRESS OR FAX NUMBER.
DO WE SEND YOUR CERTIFICATE TO A JUDGE, ATTORNEY? IF A JUDGE, STATE COURT NUMBER AND COUNTY. PLEASE FURNISH THE COURT ROOM/JUDGE'S FAX NUMBER AND/OR THE JUDGE'S E-MAIL ADDRESS.. IF AN ATTORNEY, LIST VOICE PHONE NO., FAX NO., E-MAIL ADDRESS.
ON WHAT DAY DO YOU NEED YOUR CERTIFICATE?
TIME YOU COMPLETED DWI FINAL EXAM
DATE YOU COMPLETED DWI FINAL EXAM.
WHAT IS YOUR CURRENT CHARGE?